Parisian Handwork Festival – A Virtual Tour

Bright Cotton Prints - Handwork Homeschool - L'aiguille en fete 2014A few weeks ago, I had the good fortune of being able to attend one of the best fibre art shows – L’Aiguille En Fête – in Paris – for the THIRD time !!!

I wish you could have been there – the speed knitting, the vigourous crocheting, the quilts galore & the antique sewing supplies & the yarns…. oh, the yarns….

The first two times I attended this show, which roughly translates to Festival of the Needle, I was totally overwhelmed, not by the quantity – I’ve been to many consumer & trade shows – but by the sheer quality of the goods on show.

This year was no different & as my friend, Agnes, & I sort of “know” the show now, we were able to head straight for the areas that interested us & really explore our favourite booths.

Mohair Lace Jacket - Handwork Homeschool - L'Aiguille en Fete 2014

 We’re both into knitting, so the yarn booths were our first stop.  We saw new fine single-ply yarns imported from South Africa, naturally hand-dyed yarns with the most vibrant colours from Iceland, metal yarns from Japan, beaded & sequined yarns & even a NEW yarn made from mink (brushed not shorn)!

Felt Hearts - Handwork Homeschool - L'aiguille en Fete 2014

The felt companies outdid themselves once again, presenting tons of great ideas for working with felt.  The French are great at creating sophisticated colourways while the Japanese are fantastic at needle felting.

Picture1After I’d had my fill of oogling the goodies for sale (& spent all of my allotted euros – I took only cash – it’s safer that way…), I headed to the exhibition area.  One of the things that I think is brilliant about this show is that they devote a good portion of the floor space to displaying original art.

Some of the displays featured students’ work from fibre or art schools, some of the pieces were by established artists & some groupings were international projects gathered from around the globe.  They were all very inspiring .

With so many new ideas swirling in my head, I often wish that I could sit & sketch/note them right away – must remember to add some time for this when planning my next trip!

Picture3

The other type of booth that totally grabs me (I could still be standing there today) are those that sell used/vintage/antique sewing supplies & tools.  Seriously, I could spend an entire day sifting through all of the bits & pieces, the cards of old buttons, the trims, bags, lace, old quilts.

Being Canadian, I’m still sort of shocked when I see the prices on these things

(of course there are the EXPENSIVE items – like an 18th century corset (drool), the exquisite 19th century beaded lace or the flapper dress that looked like it was made yesterday)

- because they are very reasonable.  I bought 5 late 19th/early 20th century fashion newspapers for 5 euros – for them ALL!  I could never find those prices in Toronto!

Here are some pictures from the day ( I wish it could have been 2 – I missed so many booths!)

Have fun (make sure you CLICK on the gallery so that you can see the details) & maybe next year, you could come with me ?

How fun would that be !?!

(*** I’ll be posting soon with some pics of what I did end up buying.)

Happy Dreaming…

signature

P.S Here are a couple of posts from last year’s showFrench Felt Fun & Sweet Felt Treats.

 Want to see what I bought at the show & get on my FREEBIE list? – SUBSCRIBE now!

This entry was posted in ADULT, COLOUR, CROCHET, FELT, FESTIVALS, HANDS, Inspiration, KNIT, SEW and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Parisian Handwork Festival – A Virtual Tour

  1. Cathie J says:

    Wow, great pictures. Now I am itching to craft! Thanks for sharing the pictures.

  2. Natalie says:

    Wow – that’s amazing. Thank you so much for sharing the pictures.

  3. Julie says:

    I love the felt hearts. You are so lucky to have been able to attend this event.

  4. Such great pictures! Makes me want to go. I was to Paris many years ago, but never saw anything like this (even if I had, I wouldn’t have had the interest then). Thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.