Paris…in February !?! Fantastique !!

Pain d'Epices - Handwork Homeschool - Felt DollWhen my husband & I started talking about moving to France
almost 4 years ago, it was all so exciting…
the thought of living in Europe made our minds race & our hearts pound.

We were looking forward to living in the country,
near lakes, rivers, the ocean, forests & not too far from
medieval towns, ancient castles & pre-historic sites.

There was something else that I was looking forward to in particular ~
living only a few hours away from Paris!

Notre Dame 2014 Handwork Homeschool

Since I can remember, I have always been fascinated by the city. I even took an entire course on the “History of Paris” while in university. During my years in the fashion industry (loooong before the internet), I took business trips there to visit trend forecast shows &  explore the newest styles.

Amuzilo Toy Shop - Paris - Handwork Homeschool

I still go there in search of fresh & unusual ideas.  But now, I’m more interested in handwork, toys, fibres, & colours .

Last weekend, I was lucky enough to be able to pop into Paris to do a little bit of scouting around (& of course, shopping… watch for a future post, when I’ll lay it all out for you to see!)

~~~

Travelling by train in France is quite an experience, so civilized, quiet & quick.  When I arrive (it only takes 3 hours!), I am ready to get going…

Gift shop Paris Handwork Homeschool

Cafe Paris - Handwork Homeschool

~~~

After a  stop at my favourite café, I get “serious” & start checking out my must-see shops.

~~~

I like them because they are colourful, carry unique products & I always leave with a few special things & a million inspiring ideas!

~~~~

Being in Paris during a non-tourist season (if there is actually such a thing) is a real treat.

No crowds, the weather is pretty nice & the staff in the shops are really quite laid-back, which means they’re willing to chat & let you browse around.

~~~

A few Parisian shop windows – lots of fun!

Home again & I’m right back into the swing of things.  Teaching my children their lessons, knitting, cooking, laundry, writing & watching old episodes of Larkrise to Candleford on Youtube (“It’s my one weakness….”).

I’m also, designing new projects using the colours & ideas that are swirling around in my head while they’re still bright in my mind, sketching patterns based on pictures I took in Notre Dame & getting ready to re-launch my 6-week Handwork master course, The Making Lessons on March 1st (for more details EMAIL me – it sold out last time).

Happy Making!

signature

~~~~

(P.S. I also had a chance to visit the most exciting fibrearts show called “L’aiguille en Fete” for the 3rd year running.  In my opinion, it’s the best handwork show that I’ve ever been to (& I’ve been to them all!) Watch for a post about it soon. In the meantime you might enjoy reading about my trip there last year – HERE & HERE.

The post Paris in February? Fantastique!! first appeared on Handwork Homeschool

Shared on Frontier Dreams , Natural Suburbia

This entry was posted in ADULT, COLOUR, FELT, HANDS, HEART, HOMESCHOOL PROPS, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paris…in February !?! Fantastique !!

  1. Susan says:

    What a fun place to be! Thanks for reminding me of our very short time in Paris. Love!!

    Like

  2. fairydustteaching says:

    Love!

    Like

Comments are closed.