Happy Mother’s Day!! A Book Review & A Bit of History

I once read in Christiane Northrup’s wonderful book, Mother – Daughter Wisdom,  that it would be amazing if every woman could name her 7 fore-mothers.

Can you ?

When I read that, the historian in me kicked in…so I’ve been working on finding mine.   It is a gift that I want to give to myself & my children (particularly my daughter).

So far, I can recite the names & birth dates of the women who compose my maternal lineage for 6 generations, all the way back to 1792.

My mother, Dorothy McCrea, born 1938.
My grandmother, Dorothy “Queenie” Dowsett, born 1907.
My great-grandmother, Effie Maddams Tutt, born 1877.
My great-great-grandmother, Clara Louisa Frances “Fanny” Burrows, born 1852.
My great-great-great-grandmother, Harriet Maddams, born 1827.
My great-great-great-great-grandmother, Lucy Welch Kitchener, born 1792.

One day, I’ll be able to get to England to find Lucy’s mother, that would be so exciting! Especially since she lived during the 18th century (my FAVOURITE time period).

In the meantime, I’m pleased to be able to share this information with my daughter, who I hope will pass it on to HER daughter(s) some day.  ( I have great plans for creating a collection of art pieces – one to celebrate each of my mothers – soon…)Mother's Day Mice - jan brett - Eve Bunting - Handwork Homeschool

Today, we had a quiet day at home.   At dinner, we wished that there was a celebratory Mother’s Day song.  Afterwards, my children enjoyed having my Mom read this sweet, gently illustrated book to them.  Wouldn’t you know it?  It just happens to feature a lovely little song – you’ll have to read the book to learn it!

Hope you had a wonderful day!

signature
P.S.  Did you know that scientists in Atlanta are studying new evidence that proves that we can genetically inherit not only physical characteristics from our parents but also their experiences ???  They call it the “biological transmission of memory”. WOW!

(Look it up – Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta)

This entry was posted in ADULT, BOOK REVIEW, GIFTS, GRADE FOUR, GRADE ONE, GRADE THREE, GRADE TWO, Inspiration, KINDY, NEUROLOGICAL RESEARCH, PRE-SCHOOL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.