A Needle-Felted Mediaeval Hedgehog MOVIE !?!

hedgehog mediaeval Handwork Homeschool

I’ve always thought hedgehogs are pretty cute but never realized how much the Europeans have loved them over the centuries – until I got here !  At any time of year
you can find stuffed versions, little ornaments, prickly candies & even embroidery patterns. This inspired me to make a few of my own.

little hedgehog pattern - Handwork Homeschool - hedgehog knitting

In Canada, we shared our yard with countless, giant squirrels, a possum &
some raccoons.  We don’t have any of those here but we DO  have our own
resident hedgehog, living in a make-shift house that my husband put together
for her/him.

Yes, our hedgehog prefers to remain anonymous but this picture
certainly shows just how well they can blend into the environment !

hedgehog Handwork Homeschool

Given their popularity here, I wasn’t too surprised when I found that they
were even studied in the Middle Ages & included in famous bestiaries.
I must admit, when I was researching ancient texts while in University,
it was usually for references to my favourite fantastical beast – the unicorn
– so I probably overlooked these little creatures….

Obviously, others have found them in those beautiful books &
spent a lot of time thinking about them.  Recently, someone
over at the British Museum has discovered this teeny gem!

I really can’t think of anything cooler than this short VIDEO

put together by a team of polish mediaevalists – Discarding Images
– it features:

  • needle-felted hedgehogs (based on those in a 13th century manuscript)
  • who frolick around in a “some-place” world (yes, they are animated!)
  • to hauntingly, lovely music
  • while depicting a sweet little tale – narrated in LATIN !

ACK !!

Watch it – you’ll start having visions of doing your own stop-motion
movie using some fascinating old source as your inspiration – or
wait – maybe that’s just me ?

But anyway, do PRESS PLAY – it’s SO wonderful!

.

If you’d like to read more about these nocturnal beasties – I wrote about
them & shared some of the books we like HERE.

And, if you’re feeling inspired to make your own – I’ve added
The Littlest Hedgehog Knitting Pattern 
to the
Handwork Homeschool Subscriber’s Treat page.

Click HERE to take a peek at it & some other fun things, too!

Mrs. Tiggie Winkle - Hedgehog - Handwork Homeschool

.

Snuffle, snuffle, prick, prick !

Happy Making !

sig

 

 

 

This entry was posted in ADULT, FREE KNITTING PATTERN, GRADE EIGHT, GRADE FIVE, GRADE FOUR, GRADE ONE, GRADE SEVEN, GRADE SIX, GRADE THREE, GRADE TWO, HANDS, HOMESCHOOL PROPS, Inspiration, KINDY, KNIT and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.