Valentine Books – A “Lovelist” – Round TWO !

Six-Dinner Sid Handwork Homeschool Valentine Books for older kids

For the past few years, I’ve bought a “love” book for each of my children to celebrate Valentine’s Day.  At first, it was easy to find touching stories with beautiful illustrations.  The other night, when I started searching on Amazon for this year’s gifts,
I figured I’d hop on & off in a few minutes, happy in the knowledge that I had some fab books on the way.

Ummm, not so fast…

What I didn’t realize was that I’d reached the bottom of my “must-buy” Valentine books list – last year!

After a much-too-long search, I did find some sweet books that were way out of my price range or would take weeks to arrive since most would be shipped from the UK or US
(I don’t plan months in advance for this holiday so they had to arrive quickly).

Finally, I found this little gem for my daughter.  She loves hearts & pink & stories about love AND is just about ready to learn to read.  Perfect on all counts !

 

Mouse & Mole Secret Valentine - Handwork Homeschool Valetine books for older kids

Ah, but a book for my son who will turn 11 in a few weeks, was going to be a super challenge.  He wouldn’t go for a mushy, cutesy book.

After some thought, I decided that it was time to branch out from the sugary, pink, red & white books into books that expressed love in a less Valentine-y way.  I thought about
what he really loves – construction vehicles (not many valentine books in THAT category) & our cats.  Now, I was on to something.

Not sure how I found Six-Dinner Sid ( above) but I’m so glad I did!  He looks just like our pussy-girl, Minerva ( who would also enjoy 6 dinners a day).
.

Valentine 2014 needle felted decorations Handwork Homeschool

My kids love Valentine’s Day, mostly because it’s a day when they get candy
AND because it’s yet another holiday (like Hallowe’en & Thanksgiving) that the French don’t really celebrate.  It makes my babes feel special knowing that they’re doing something “Canadian“.

I’m really looking forward to reading these new books on Saturday (yes, I still read to both of my kids, even though my son reads beautifully now) all gathered around the woodstove in the kitchen or the fireplace in the front room.

Looking back over my posts, it seems I didn’t share last year’s books.  Well, here they are!

Love, Ruby Valentine Handwork Homeschool Valentine books for older kids

Love, Ruby Valentine inspired my daughter to make lots & lots of glittery valentine cards.

Love, Splat Handwork Homeschool valentine books for older kids

This was my son’s gift.  Do you know Splat ?  Do you have cats?  Ha, you should get this one!  The heart on the cover actually glitters & the characters are delicious.  Splat is such a sweet-heart, little-bit-mixed-up cat who wants to fit in & grow up.  My son totally connected with him.  Can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this one….

You can see the rest of our Valentine Book Lovelist here.  It always amazes me how quickly our book collections grow!

Know of some other great valentine or love books?  I’d love to hear about them. Since the closest English bookstore is in Paris, I don’t get to browse too often! Drop me a line in the comments.

Speaking of Paris – here’s a pic of one of my favourite stationery shops – all decked out for St. Valentin.  People always stare when I take pictures of the windows – but I just can’t help myself!

ETNA3G

 

Happy Valentine’s Day!

sig

 

 

.

P.S. Looking for MORE Valentine’s inspiration ?
Check out my Pinterest board HERE. While you’re there – why not follow it ?
I have many more pins on the way !

 

This entry was posted in BOOK REVIEW, FESTIVALS, GRADE FOUR, GRADE ONE, GRADE THREE, GRADE TWO, HEART, KINDY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.