Creativity…how can you help your babes HONE it & OWN it ?

Hi!

Today, I was scrolling through Instagram & saw an interesting post where some über-smart homeschooling mothers were discussing the pros & cons of allowing children to make their own decisions – from tiny ones (what do you want to wear?) to big ones (what do you want to learn?).

I commented as I’m a total believer in trusting children’s innate abilities to know what they really NEED and mainly because some of the other commentors were dropping in words like “frontal-lobe” & “executive functioning” alongside “freedom” & “micro-managing education”!

Having devoted the last couple of years to exploring how creativity & Hands-ON learning work like BRAIN MAGIC for children (& the rest of us) – this was a conversation I wanted to weigh in on…

Hands ON Brain Magic - Handwork Homeschool

You see, I’ve discovered a lot of fascinating things about how a child’s brain grows (or doesn’t) depending on various factors.  There are the ones everybody is pretty aware of like environment, general education, nutrition, sleep, heredity and a basic sense of security.

Then there are those which are hiding in plain sight like spending (lots of) time outdoors, making things with their hands, playing make-believe and giving them a large amount autonomy when it comes to how they spend their days. So easy & yet so POWERFUL.

Since I began Handwork Homeschool, way back in 2010, my focus has gradually evolved away from simply providing ideas, how-tos & inspiration for handwork projects.  Now, I see my mission is far more important & profound than I could have imagined.

After 25 years of raising kids (13 of those homeschooling) & the bazillion hours spent creating, learning & teaching, I can finally see the big picture.  No two children need/want/deserve the same education and that’s a good thing!

We’re all different, so why shouldn’t our education be customized to suit us?

I’ve been unraveling some very interesting homeschooling/creative topics in the last months but kept looking for ways to share my newest findings.

The teaching workshops I’ve created and the knowledge I’ve gained all tie in so nicely with the new handwork projects I’ve been designing (none of which have yet been published!).  After much thought about ways to share it, I finally decided it just made sense to design a lovely container to place them all in.

That place is called The Creational Guild.

.

The Creational Guild for Creative mothers devoted to giving their children a modern education

.

It’s part mastermind for creative mothers of super-intelligent children & part virtual homeschooling community combined with an online, private learning space and a very exciting, tangible component (those are the Treasure Trove care packages which I will be making & sending to the Founding Guild Members — there are still a few spots available, btw).

You know what they say, if you’re looking for something & can’t find it – might as well make it yourself (or maybe I’m the one who says that ?).   Well, I like to think of it as

The Hand-Crafted Guild for
Spirited Mothers Devoted to
The MAKING Life

.

If you’d like to learn more about what you’ll find in the Guild, if it’s for you & how you can help your own babe(s) HONE & OWN their creativity, check it out HERE.

If you have questions – there’s a link near the bottom of that page to email me OR you can comment on this post below.

Make Stuff ♥ Be Happy!

P.S.  If you haven’t followed me on Instagram yet, you can find me here www.instagram.com/handworkhomeschool/ and if you’re interested, the convo was going on at intentionalhomeschooling

This entry was posted in ADULT, BABY, GRADE EIGHT, GRADE FIVE, GRADE FOUR, GRADE ONE, GRADE SEVEN, GRADE SIX, GRADE THREE, GRADE TWO, HANDS, HEAD, HOMESCHOOL PLANNING, HOW - TO, NEUROLOGICAL RESEARCH, TEACHING HANDWORK, The CREATIONAL Guild and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to add something ?

