Handwork Heroines ~ Meet Mine

Recently, I was reading an article in which a maker was asked, “Who inspires you?”.

It seems like a simple little question – but it kept rolling around in my head – so I started making a NEW list for myself.

.
Claudy Jonstra Handwork Homeschool

.

I say “NEW” because I created a list of women who I aspired to be like, many years ago when I first realized I loved costume, textiles & the fibre arts.

When I look back at my original list, it’s really pretty surprising to find that quite a few of the same amazing women still hold my fascination after more than 25 years!

You can probably list off top media celebrities in a few seconds, famous dead artists are easy to think of too but how many women can you think of who not only create beautiful things AND have a fascinating work & lifestyle philosophy that their body of work rests upon ?

Yeah, not many right?  So –

Everybody likes a good list so I thought you might like to see mine….

I’m not giving it to you all at once since that would be no fun & you really should take the time to explore these uniquely creative women one at a time!  Just so you know – there’s no ranking on my list, in fact they jostle & shift places depending on what holds my interest at the time.

Today, I’d like to introduce you to one of the newer entrants on my list

– Claudy Jongstra.

Claudy Jonstra Handwork Homeschool
.
Claudy is a Dutch artist who works primarily in felt.  What drew me to her was that she has such an amazing point-of-view about making & working with natural fibres.

I have dreams of growing, dyeing &  processing my own fibres (plant & one day animal,too!) then using those to make fabulous handwork creations.  She’s already doing this & on an impressive scale.

Even George Lucas looked her up when he needed some “out-of-this-world” fabric for Star Wars costumes.  Now, that is just COOL!

Here’s the video that grabbed my attention when I stumbled upon it late one night.

.

.

This one is great because it takes you INSIDE her studio…!  Can you imagine having a set up like that?

.

 

I don’t know her personally, but getting to meet her is definitely on my bucket list!

Do you have Handwork Heroines?  

Tell me about them, I look forward to adding more to my list& expanding my ideas of what is possible in the Handwork world!

Happy Making !

sig

.

.

.

.

my bio

This entry was posted in ADULT, DYEING, HANDS, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.